Minny Pops release new single 'Patty' on 25 March 2024

Formed by vocalist/band leader Wally van Middendorp, post-punk electro pioneers Minny Pops borrowed their name from a primitive Korg drum machine and their approach from conceptual art at its most mischievously off-kilter. Their association with the legendary Manchester label Factory Records, which began in the eighties, would see them produced by Martin Hannett, tour with Joy Division and then New Order, and become the first Dutch group to record a Peel session.

Based out of the UK since 2014, Minny Pops are now operating as a collective with a cast of collaborators from various places that man might visit from time to time: Austin, Bristol, London, Rotterdam, and Los Angeles.

In recent years, core members of the collective Minny Pops have been in and out of the studio to work on new recordings. Sessions were abandoned, songs were re-recorded and there was lots of soul searching and those close to the band were wondering if new recordings would ever see the light of day.

As if struck by lightning band leader Wally van Middendorp somehow managed to set aside all doubts and fears and Minny Pops are now presenting their new single 'Patty'.

“This song is all about Patty, not Louise or Patricia, who got kidnapped and joined the urban guerrilla group who captured her. It relates to the Stockholm syndrome with hostages developing a psychological bond with their captors. 'Patty' is set in 1974 but as if has nothing has changed, still relevant in today’s world where armed conflict continues to take place.’’

Release of new single 'Patty' signals a rejuvenation for Minny Pops who have been in hibernation for many years. The band released four albums in late seventies, early eighties: Drastic Measures, Drastic Movement in 1979, Sparks in a Dark Room in 1981, Poste Restante in 1983 and their under-rated 4th Floor album in 1984 and a handful of new songs in the last decade.

And hallelujah, fast forward 40 years and we have landed in 2024 which will see the first album release of a series of four albums to be released in 2024, 2025, 2026 and 2027.